Trash The Dress

Wedding Trasher Photos

I can’t remember the first time I heard of the term “trash the dress” all I know is that it stuck with me! I remember thinking how neat it is that the pictures are not traditional. Personally I know what would happened to my weeding dress if I did things the traditional way (it would be in a box probably in my basement) I did actually bring two wedding dresses though one for the ceremony and to keep and one to TRASH!

The “trashing” took place on James Bond Island in Ocho Rios Jamaica, to my knowledge this is a private island so our photographer had to pull a few strings and it wasn’t a guarantee.

DSC_5979

Funny short story…..We were in line at the airport in STL and an older couple in front of us asked where we were headed, we told them Ocho Rios, Jamaica to get married. The couple went on for a few minutes about how beautiful Ocho Rios is and how neat beach weddings are then suddenly in the most judgemental tone the woman said “Oh please tell me you aren’t going to do those ruin your dress pictures??” LOL we told her yes actually we did want to do that…AWKWARD SILENCE broken by me telling her that I didn’t pay much for my dress to trash, she seemed a little bit better after that ;-)  but the moral of the story is no matter what type of pictures you get make sure it’s what YOU want because you can’t please everybody! 

I purchased two dresses one for the wedding and one to “trash” which worked out perfect for me because I got to have two different looks. What I did was try on dresses at a few bridal shops to get an Idea of the style I wanted then I ordered the dresses on EBAY! so scary but the turned out great and the quality was amazing, you would have never been able to tell the difference between my dresses and the ones in the expensive boutiques a few advantages I saw to ordering on EBAY was the selection (pretty much limitless), The fact that you order it custom to your own measurements and the PRICE. 

My Tips When Trashing:

  • Wear costume Jewelry or non sentimental items that can be replaced. I did wear my real wedding ring however I had to be very cautious because you are going to be moving a lot!
  • Trash a dress that you don’t have to worry about even if that means getting a replica of the dress you wore on your wedding day- if you are worried about your dress while you are trashing it those expressions will show up in the pictures!
  • Do it on a different day than your wedding day! There will be so much happening on your wedding day it is much easier to let loose and trash on a different day-we chose two days after our wedding and there were no worries!
  • Try a different location than your wedding if you were married on the beach. We took a boat to James Bond Island so it was a different environment which had a natural waterfall!
  • Choose a dress you can MOVE in, my dress had a slit up the thigh which made it super easy to climb with ha ha! Don’t have a dress that is completely binding.
  • Be careful! Trashing the dress can actually be dangerous- I was lucky to have a great photographer and husband helping me up and down the slippery rocks but Eric an I both left with scratches and bruises!
  • Use props if possible! My favorite pic is one that happened AFTER the whole shoot-we got back to the resort and the photographer suggested sticking some life jackets on us just for fun, it turned out neat and even less traditional than the others.
  • Have FUN! Eric and I probably didn’t stop laughing the entire shoot because let’s face it…..getting dressed up and then running through sand and water is not something you do everyday!

DSC_5953

DSC_5960

DSC_5976

DSC_5987

DSC_6095

DSC_6081

DSC_6004

DSC_6045

You can also view my post on the wedding in Ocho Rios for the “normal” pictures 😉

 

Leave a Reply

