Chocolate covered twinkie ATTEMPT!

Chocolate covered twinkie ATTEMPT!

Warning: What you are about to see is not pretty…

UGH the theory of a chocolate covered twinkie is SO GOOD!

UGH the theory of a chocolate covered twinkie is SO GOOD!

Even looking at this picture frustrates me because they were stuck to the wax paper, crumbling messes of delicious hopes and dreams for Valentine’s day lol

Here is the original post: http://joyfulhomemaking.com/2012/09/chocolate-covered-twinkies.html

Above is a pic of some successful ones from that pin that I did NOT make 🙂

Here are the ingredients I used, oh and they weren’t hostess brand twinkies otherwise this would have been one expensive mistake!

diaper shower 016

 

I use almond bark anytime I need dipping chocolate and have never had an issue. I am not positive on exactly where I went wrong with my chocolate covered “golden creme cake” disasters  but here are some trouble shooting tips that may help you if you make them!

Possible problem solvers:

  • Refrigerate the twinkies before hand, I know with many other recipes it helps if the cake is stiffer.
  • Use a skewer or stick inserted in the twinkie to give you a tool when dipping
  • Try to get the melting chocolate as thin as possible for this one, you can always dunk it as many times as you need but maneuvering these little cakes in thick chocolate is tough and only causes crumbling!
  • Follow directions 🙂 the pin used choc. chips & shortening…. maybe I should have!

Hopefully someone can learn from my errors and make a masterpiece batch!

Leave a Reply

